Waikato Region

Waikato – waɪkɑːtɔ or ˈwaɪkætoʊ

Waikato covers the Waikato District, Waipa District, Matamata-Piako District, South Waikato District and Hamilton City, as well as Hauraki, Coromandel Peninsula, the northern King Country, much of the Taupō District, and parts of Rotorua District.

The name for the region is taken from the Waikato River; waikato is a Māori word traditionally translated as “flowing water” (specifically, wai = “water” and kato = “the pull of the river current in the sea”).

©2022 Proactive

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?