Otago & Southland Region

Otago & Southland

Otago – Ōtākou is a region of New Zealand located in the southern half of the South Island.  It has an area of approximately 32,000 square kilometres (12,000 sq mi),[4] making it the country’s second largest region.

The name “Otago” is an Anglicisation of “Otakou”, the name of the Māori village near the entrance to the harbour.  “Otago” is also the old name of the European settlement on the Otago Harbour, established by the Weller Brothers in 1831, which lies close to the modern harbourside community of Otakou.

Major centres include Dunedin, Oamaru, Balclutha, Alexandra, and the major tourist centres Queenstown and Wanaka.

Southland – Murihiku is New Zealand’s southernmost region. It consists mainly of the southwestern portion of the South Island and Stewart Island / Rakiura. It includes Southland, Gore Districts and the city of Invercargill. The region covers over 3.1 million hectares and spans over 3,400 km of coast.

©2022 Proactive

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?